Killer Legs x POUND Workout

Lunges.  We  know they’re necessary for really killer legs, but they’re the one part of my workout that I seem to skip repeatedly.  I’ll do a few extra squats or leg presses to make up for them, but lunges are always met with the empty promise that “I’ll do them next time”.

Thankfully, the Steve Nash Sports Clubs offer Pound classes, which are my little secret to slipping an obscene amount of lunges into my workout whenever I feel like my legs are in need of some attention.  I’ve been attending classes led by Marion, a super fun and upbeat instructor who somehow manages to make the classes even more fun than they inherently are.

Rockout Workoutimage from Pound Fitness

According to their website:

Pound is a full-body cardio jam session, combining light resistance with constant simulated drumming. The workout fuses cardio, Pilates, isometric movements, plyometrics and Isometric poses into a 45-minute series. Burn between 600 and 900 calories per hour, strengthen and sculpt infrequently used muscles, and drum your way to a leaner, slimmer physique – all while rocking out to your favorite music!

I love this class because it’s a really intense and musically driven workout.  Unlike Zumba (my previous favorite), you stay in one spot with your yoga mat for the whole the class, which means you’ll always have enough room no matter how packed the class gets.  To give you an idea of how it stacks up to other fitness classes, I think that it is more challenging and requires less coordination than Zumba (great for those of you with two left feet!) but it is still easier than Tabata.

Ripstix

This class is great for people of all levels because you get exactly what you put into it.  It can be hard or easy, depending on how much you want to push yourself and how deep you choose to go into each lunge and movement.  You’ll use 1lb Ripstix to drum on a yoga mat (to absorb the sound), but I have to warn you that the class can get quite loud at times, so I wouldn’t recommend it to those with sensitive hearing.  I actually considered wearing earplugs but figured that it would prevent me from drumming in time with the music.

You’ll drum to songs from popular artists like Bruno Mars and Macklemore & Ryan Lewis, but the music includes all genres from hip-hop to rock (of course!).  It’s a very amped up class and invigorating workout and I really like that the loud music seems to give me an extra boost of energy.

Pound Workout Gear

My favorite part of this workout is that you get distracted by drumming to the beat of your favorite songs so you never realize how many lunges and squats you’ve actually done.  Every single song is a full-body workout, but there are certain “Poundtracks” that are geared to individual areas like your arms, butt and abs.  So make sure to bring a towel and water bottle and get ready to really work!

Pound classes are offered by Steve Nash Fitness World at their Morgan Crossing + Richmond locations (sorry, the Sports Clubs only!) but if you’re in an area like Cali, you can check a class out at a CRUNCH or UFC Gym, where SNFW members also get access!  More and more gyms are offering this rock star workout so I highly recommend giving it a try!

Check out the creators of Pound – Kirsten and Christina – demonstrating the workout on Access Hollywood!

What’s your favorite fitness class?  

With love,
Veronique♥

Disclosure:  I did not receive any compensation for this post.  These are my opinions and are in no way indicative of the positions or opinions of the companies mentioned.  Thanks for your support! ♥

2 thoughts on “Killer Legs x POUND Workout

  1. I’ve been surfing online greater than 3 hours these days, but I by no means discovered any fascinating article like yours. It is lovely worth enough for me. Personally, if all web owners and bloggers made just right content as you probably did, the web might be much more helpful than ever before.

Leave a Reply

