And I thought the Shu Uemura Eyelash Curler couldn’t get any better!

Karl for Shu box

As a little bit of background to this particular situation, I had been using the iconic Shu Uemura eyelash curler for years and can say that it did live up to the hype.  Consistently awarded best in its class by beauty editors from magazines like Allure and InStyle, this tool is easy to use, fits all eye shapes and legitimately curls lashes rather than merely crimping or bending them.

Now imagine my disappointment when I lost it.  At $24 it wasn’t incredibly expensive, but I used curling mascaras for a while and hoped that I would eventually stumble upon it (it just wasn’t the same!).  Now take that disappointment and multiply that by 10 when I discovered that Shu Uemura stopped most of their distribution within North America—Sephora, Nordstrom, Saks… no one was carrying it!**  (I’m convinced someone took it from my makeup bag while at the gym because they knew getting a hold of one would be super tough!  Hmph!  Or maybe I just lost it…haha) 

Karl For Shu Close Up

Although the Shu Uemura curler is still at the top of InStyle’s Best Beauty Buys list, it was bumped off of Allure’s Best of Beauty List by Kevyn Aucoin’s “The Eyelash Curler” which features a red pad.  The shift from a normal pad to a bright red one makes it easier to ensure even placement along the lash roots and helps to point out any stray lashes left out when curling.

So despite being knocked out of Allure’s #1 spot, the Shu Uemura curler was my Holy Grail eyelash curler, I decided to repurchase it again.  Upon visiting the Shu Uemura website I noticed that there were selling a limited edition Karl Lagerfeld version (Karl for Shu) which came with a cute charm and…a BRIGHT RED PAD!  I couldn’t have been happier!!

Karl for Shu Eyelash Curler

A couple notes for anyone interested in buying this:

  • Reviews on Amazon indicated that a few of the sellers were actually peddling fakes, so I recommend buying from an authorized reseller
  • A comparison of the Canadian/US site shows that the Canadian site was retailing the Karl for Shu curler for $24 while the American site has it listed on sale for $18 (Do you see my frustration with shopping in Canada? Our dollar is practically at par!!)
  • You can get FREE SHIPPING if you register with Shu Uemura for emails (if you’re lazy, the code is “REGISTER1”)
  • I’m happy with the Whitefficient Clear Brightening Gentle Cleansing Oil (20ml) which I selected as my free sample because it feels really luxurious!

Karl For Shu Contents

So this baby is now all mine, and for 25% less than what I would have paid in Canada!  It works just as well as the original, but I’ve really been liking the new red pad.  There’s no more need to re-curl uneven lashes because it very obviously indicates if your curler is not perfectly aligned with your lash line.  The charm is cute but tends to get caught on things in my makeup bag (as if eyelash curlers don’t do that enough!), but if it hassles you too much you can always remove it.

The Karl for Shu eyelash curler is limited edition so if you’re looking to pick up an eyelash curler, I recommend getting this one soon!

What are some of your favorite holy grail beauty tools?  I’m always on the lookout so I’d love some recommendations! 

With love,
Veronique♥

**Between the time that I ordered it and wrote this post, Sephora seems to have started selling Shu Uemura again.  Both Sephora websites for the USA & Canada still indicate that they do not carry the brand, but I walked into a store at some point in the past couple weeks and located a Shu Uemura display.  They did not carry the limited edition Karl for Shu eyelash curler, but they did have some of the original ones in stock.   

 

 

Disclosure:  I purchased this item on my own and did not receive any compensation for this post.  These are my own opinions and are in no way indicative of the positions or opinions of the companies mentioned.  Thanks for your support! ♥

3 thoughts on “And I thought the Shu Uemura Eyelash Curler couldn’t get any better!

  1. Pingback: Shu Uemura Depsea Hydrability Moisturizing Emulsion – What the hell is a “Depsea” anyway? | Clean Yo' Room!

Leave a Reply

